(c) OÖ Energiesparverband

That was #NEFI2022 - 2nd International Scientific Conference of the Innovation Network

by Oxana Schmidt

·   Roughly 220 participants discussed the transformation and decarbonisation of the industrial energy system in Linz on 13/14 October 2022.

·   Three young researchers were honoured with the Young Scientist Award


On October 13-14, 2022, the second international scientific conference of the NEFI Innovation Network took place in Linz. The focus was on the importance of research and innovation as well as the necessary framework on the path to a climate-neutral industry. Around 35 speakers from research, business and politics discussed the problems and solutions. Around 220 participants followed the keynotes on the both days, took part in the workshops and used the opportunities for interactions.

The conference was opened on Thursday by Henriette Spyra (Head of Section III 'Innovation and Technology‘, Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK)), Markus Achleitner (Regional Minister for Economy and Energy, Province of Upper Austria), Wolfgang Hribernik (NEFI Network Coordinator) and Elvira Lutter (Programme Manager Climate and Energy Fund, Director of the Net-Zero Industries Mission by Mission Innovation).

The Regional Ministers Barbara Eibinger-Miedl (Regional Minister for Economy, Tourism, Regions, Science and Research, Province of Styria) and Ursula Lackner (Regional Minister for Environment, Climate Protection, Energy, Regional Development and Spatial Planning, Province of Styria) were part of the opening via short video message.

Workshops and presentations by 35 experts

In the three keynotes, five sessions on the technological and systemic fields of innovation and the workshops, solutions and framework conditions were discussed. A special highlight was the IETS Task 19 workshop on 'Electrification of Industry', which was attended by around 70 participants.

Three young researchers were honoured with the Young Scientist Award

On the evening of the first day of the conference, the three winners of the Young Scientist Award were ceremoniously honoured in the Ars Electronica Center's Skyloft.

First place went ex equo to

  • Vanessa Zawodnik, (Chair of Energy Network Technology, Montanuniversität Leoben)
  • Nadine Brunnhuber (Institute for Industrial Ecology)

3rd place went to

  • Jana Reiter (AEE Intec)

Congratulations to the winners!


We would like to thank all speakers, participants and moderators of the NEFI Conference 2022 and the whole organisation team!

To the Proceedings of the #NEFI2022 conference: NEFI_Conference_2022_Proceedings.pdf.

Keynotes and session presentations of the both conference days can be found here: